where did the time go?

all of my weddings as of late (but one) took place in beautiful Nova Scotia, where a plethora (I l-o-v-e that word!) of photographic possibilities abound! there is an energy connected to the salt water, the winding roads, the air. so…whenever we got a chance we went outside and took advantage of it! here we go!..

Jennifer and Marc
Jennifer and Marc

jennifer and marc were wed on the south shore, not far from St. Margaret’s Bay and Lunenburg at her parents’ summer home. it was a beautiful day as the sun appeared with perfect timing – just as the piper (not the bird but the guy with the bagpipes for those non-maritimers…) began to lead Jennifer ‘down the aisle’, or beach, in this case. all present were so wonderfully friendly and full of smiles and warmth. the children played in the sand and splashed water while friends and family reminisced and laughed together.
~good times smile~
slideshow

Stephanie and Brendan
Stephanie and Brendan

i met Stephanie and Brendan months prior to their wedding day and spent many an hour with them. it was a pleasure to meet them both and in the process a friendship began.
Slideshow

Jennifer and Jason
Jennifer and Jason

jennifer and jason and guests were great sports on a mild, yet rainy day. despite the weather the ceremony was held outside with attendants and guests huddled happily under umbrellas. the drizzle, however, was only short-lived, which enabled me to have some one-on-one time with jen and jason down on the waterfront. the lighting was great and the mood was relaxed. this is one of my favourite shots – the outline of their embrace is shaped like a heart from their noses touching in the middle, the curve of their foreheads to the back and down toward the middle between them to meet in the bottom point of the heart. maybe it’s just me but I see it every time!
slideshow
Julia and Stephen
Julia and Stephen
this was a hot day. really hot day. beautiful, and hot. nonetheless, the entire event was a fun and I easily forgot about the heat. julia and stephen are such friendly and warm people – and funny. the humour exhibited by so many on that day is what I really remember. there was such a closeness that you only get with loving family members and friends and it radiated outward so strongly that whenever I look at these images I feel it again.
slideshow
Joleen and Costa
Joleen and Costa
what a pleasure and a wonderful day! joleen and costa were one of the warmest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. when they looked into each other’s eyes you could see true love. and the location they chose, a family home with a view of the ocean, was breathtaking. I could have kept shooting them all day if the rain hadn’t started – even so, we kept on for a bit, umbrellas in hand and laughing abound!
slideshow
Bridget and Brian
Bridget and Brian
bridget and brian were a photographer’s dream! they were not only hospitable and friendly but relaxed from beginning to end. I had a wonderful time but I think my favourite part was shooting the wedding party on the dock and the dancing in the evening!
the fireworks were a nice ending to the day!
slideshow
Anne Marie and Mike
Anne Marie and Mike
i remember clearly the image in my head as the elevator opened for Yoko and I to go up to the rooms where anne marie and mike were getting ready. out rolls a 4×8 foot table filled with chocolates and candies all nicely labeled. not only was it literally eye candy it was a chocolate paradise on wheels! well, how lucky were we that this was a display table for anne marie and mike’s reception? any lover of chocolate is okay with me!
anne marie and mike were a pleasure to work with and it was effortless shooting!
slideshow
Celeste and Glen
Celeste and Glen
from the first email I could hear celeste’s laughter in cyberspace! both she and glen were so cheery and up for anything. when celeste mentioned how she particularly liked some of the more artistic styled images on my website I made sure to bring my holga and created some cross-processed images as well. I had a great time as we traipsed around Lunenberg laughing and getting some great shots!
slideshow
Marcia and Tyler
Marcia and Tyler
the sweetest couple! marcia and tyler were so gracious I could have kept shooting for hours longer than I did!
slideshow

Ben and Joanna
Ben and Joann

A little fun!
A little fun
First dance
First dance
shooting ben and joanna’s wedding was such a privilege. to be able to experience every moment of the day with my best friend’s brother and his wife-to-be (who took well to my dry humour and is such a wonderful person!) was something I will never forget. this was my last wedding of the season and I felt as though my own brother were getting married ! it was great to be pulled into the thick of the dancing at the end of the night and told to put my camera down and have a good time. I got to see friends I hadn’t seen in years and celebrate a most important and memorable day with many loved ones. it was a great way to end the wedding season!

slideshow

My 'brother' and me!
My ‘brother’

Old friends, best friends

About moongirl

Artist, Photographer
This entry was posted in Weddings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to where did the time go?

  1. ad says:

    Very lovely, Bon Chance Tamara – you’re gifted. love from b+a+d

  2. Marlene Sobie-Stepien says:

    Your words for describing the couples and the time you spend together with them sounds very special and you sound very exciting and uplifting to be around. Your ideas for shots and the skill you have shows. The music timed with the photos coming in on screen are perfect.

  3. Michelle Ferguson says:

    Your ability definitely shines, leaving me with in a moment of awe.

Leave a Reply

